Start Submission Become a Reviewer

Reading: La presenza subalterna in Italia e la scrittura come terapia

Download

A- A+
dyslexia friendly

Articoli

La presenza subalterna in Italia e la scrittura come terapia

Author:

Dagmar Reichardt

University of Groningen, NL
About Dagmar

Dagmar Reichardt insegna Letteratura e Cultura Italiana ed Europea presso l’Università di Groninga. È membro del comitato direttivo dell’A.I.P.I. (Associazione Internazionale Professori d’Italiano) e della Società Austriaco-Canadese (Österreichisch-Kanadische Gesellschaft). È autrice di numerose pubblicazioninell’editoria tedesca e di saggi accademici su temi dell’italianistica. Dopo lo studio difilologia romanza all’Università di Amburgo dove ha conseguito il dottorato di ricercasull’autore Giuseppe Bonaviri, ha insegnato presso le Università di Brema e diInnsbruck. Si è specializzata sulla letteratura siciliana, sul Novecento italiano e su argomenti inerenti agli Studi Culturali, Transculturali e Postcoloniali e alla Letteratura Comparata.

X close

Abstract

From a theoretical and social point of view, modern Italophone postcolonial writing relegates to ways of receiving reality in the tradition of Verism and Neorealism,especially if aspects of violence are being considered. Notably the texts of female immigrant writers represent the subaltern (Gayatri C. Spivak) as they reflect thebiographical traumatic experiences of their authors or historical violent backgroundsof the plots. In this sense, according to the paradigm of James W. Pennebaker (Writing Therapy), writing often assumes a therapeutical function. This article recalls the first attempts of articulating the Italian colonial past in literature, starting with Ennio Flaiano and Mario Tobino, and then focusing on the innovative migratory texts of female Italophone writers from the 1990s onwards, namely those of Ribka Sibhatu,Cristina Ali Farah, Gabriella Ghermandi and Igiaba Scego who culturally speaking all originate from former Italian colonies in Africa. By making use of the theorems ofArmando Gnisci and Dacia Maraini, it becomes evident how female Italophone migrant writing must be recognized not only as a process of sensitization, but also asillness and therapy at the same time. Thus, the act of writing creates a transculturalspace of both conflict and encounter, in which a talking back from the periphery of Italian society takes place, with the effect of reconciling Italy with its colonialhistory and globalized present.
DOI: http://doi.org/10.18352/incontri.9140
How to Cite: Reichardt, D., (2013). La presenza subalterna in Italia e la scrittura come terapia. Incontri. Rivista europea di studi italiani. 28(1), pp.16–24. DOI: http://doi.org/10.18352/incontri.9140
4
Views
2
Downloads
Published on 24 Jul 2013.
Peer Reviewed

Downloads

  • PDF (EN)

    comments powered by Disqus